In Lieu of Watercolors

Click to Enlarge

Click to Enlarge

This has been an ongoing project, but aside from adjusting one set of closet doors and waiting the arrival of a special order 10-lite door for another closet, THIS project is finished.

What was done?  New floors, new molding around floors and doors, new glass entrance door,  new window (replacement of a small, round porthole shaped non-egress window with a five foot side-sliding tinted one), reconfigured single closet with new trim on shelving, new doors and new shelving in large closet, crown moulding, chair railing, wallpaper, paint, new fan, new shag rug, new shades, all new electric outlets and switches, and new linens.  All the furniture was my son’s, but we bought a new mattress set.

Click to Enlarge

Click to Enlarge

If this doesn’t sound like much, it took me over two months of work, much of it on my hands and knees or on a ladder to complete.  Except for the installation of the window, electric, and fan, I did all of this by myself.  Scroll for more photos.  So I’m back to my watercolors for awhile, but then I start on the master bath!!!!  (Will post photos of any additions as they happen.)

 

Click to Enlarge

Click to Enlarge

Click to Enlarge

Click to Enlarge

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to In Lieu of Watercolors

  1. Zoya says:

    It looks beautiful – so light and peaceful.

  2. It’s beautiful, Patsye. Truly. Such a peaceful, harmonious room. But .. I’m glad you’ve finished because I was missing you. I missed hearing about the fur babies; I missed your paintings, and I missed ‘you’. It will be great to have you back …. once you’ve had a bit of a rest of course. 🙂
    Sending love ~ Cobs. x

    • whimseytopia says:

      Thanks Cobs. I find myself going in there now and then just to look. Then I shut the door to keep in that “new car smell.” LOL I sketched some today, three small ones, and look forward to getting back to painting. The kitties (alias Ninja Lucy and The Pumpkin Cat) are running around at my feet right now with a ball that has a bell in it. Little distracting, but at least I know where they are! Patsye

  3. Irati Mtz says:

    Very impressive Patsye! Looks very calm, and clean! Ideal for a bedroom.
    I love the white chair.

    • whimseytopia says:

      Thanks for the compliment. While Windsor chairs are not particularly chairs you can curl up in, this one, one of two I have, is so form fitting, I do find myself reading in it now and then.

  4. designsweet says:

    Most impressed – what handiwork! Go and sit – you deserve it!

  5. You have to hang a couple of your watercolors! Beautiful room!

  6. Beautiful! This looks so soothing and inviting. And you did the floor yourself? And the crown moulding?

    Again, just beautiful!!

    • whimseytopia says:

      Hi Patti. I knew you’d comment because of that king quilt. See how well it covers a queen bed. I also cut down one of the king shams to queen size, which worked so I could put one in front of the other. And speaking of queen, I am the queen of the compound miter saw. I’ve crowned molded every house I’ve ever lived in. This one was particularly difficult because of the age of the house and the absence of right angles. Finished the floors. Bought the kicker and found this quite easy. (Fired the contractors who did a terrible job.) I can also do wainscoting and may, after everything else is finished, do this to our long wide hall. And for the record, I can change a switch and outlet, but I’d hurt my knee and was having trouble putting pressure on it while changing out the first outlet, so I called in an electrician who put in 11 outlets and 8 switches. He and his son are licensed, and changed all the three blacks in each plug to one which is now code. I didn’t know this, so I’m glad I hired them. $120 for all this and fixing my fan wiring (which my husband did wrong.) I’m so happy to have this (almost) done. There was so much I didn’t mention, like recessing the tracks for the bifolds so that I didn’t have to cut them down to fit. Cutting the 3/4″ flooring took hours. Lots of tweaking with the trim because of the angles. Just a massive job. And I’m not looking forward to the master bath. I’ll be taking down my first wall. Hum…..

      Come visit. Come help me with the bathroom. The guest room will be yours!

  7. maureenc says:

    Patsye! You have done a wonderful job. Only yesterday I was wondering where you had disappeared to, because I had missed your postings re watercolours’. Enjoy a couple of days relaxing and reflecting on your wonderful result

    • whimseytopia says:

      My time was well spent, and I have three rooms left to do in this house. But I am taking a well-deserved break before I start (which is actually already started) in on the master bath. Thanks for the compliment. Been reading your blog regularly, and enjoying your fabric cards.

  8. Yes…I’m in love with you for sure.
    You do what I do: Just do it!
    The room is beautiful.
    Well done!
    Indeed.

Leave a Reply

