A Craftsy Class: Sketching in Motion (#1)

The guest room renovation took most of my energy and all of my time, so it was soothing as well as mesmerizing to watch Marc Taro Holmes swirl his pencils, pens, and brushes across the paper, and like magic create what I long for: an illustrative watercolor.

I’m taking his class called Sketching in Motion, and while it looks simple when he does it, it’s far harder than I ever imagined.  He wants “fast.”  I want “fast.”  But it is a mystery to me how he can work that fast and produce such intriguing and attractive little watercolors.

I’ve watched the entire program a few times, and it was only yesterday I felt I could produce something that indicated movement.  They’re all smudged and not even close to being the contour drawing he requires, but at least I got phase one on paper.  Tomorrow I’ll be pulling out my ink pen for phase two.

So in an effort to encourage (patsye-speak for embarrass) myself into sketching every day, I am putting these feeble attempts out there for your amusement.  Each day they’ll either get better or worse.  Time will tell.

Click to Enlarge

Click to Enlarge

Scan 41

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Painting, Sketching, Watercolor, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Craftsy Class: Sketching in Motion (#1)

  1. Amanda says:

    Patsye, where’d you go? Missing you and your colors! Come out, come out, wherever you are!

  2. averyclaire says:

    HI Patsye….Just wanted to say what a great artist you are. I love ALL of your drawings and watercolours! You do it so quickly. Love what you did with your guest room…the soft blue and white is so relaxing! Nice bargain on the quilt…I will remember that for future reference. Hugs.

  3. Whimsey …. you’re very quiet, so I thought I’d poke you with my drawing pencil. Poke. Poke. Poke.

    (is everything fine and dandy in Whimsey Land?)
    Love ~ Cobs. x

  4. One aims for different things with quick drawings – a movement, an expression, a momentary pose. Patsye you have captured movement well here. I like the lady having a quiet drink too. Look forward to the coloured versions. Have fun Patsye and well done. 😊

  5. So long as you’re enjoying yourself, you’re going in the right direction.

    I love the sketches – they’re the type of thing I’d put into a lovely untreated pale wood frame and hang them on the wall. LOVE them. ~ Cobs. x

  6. dearmaizie says:

    Not being an artist, I had to Google Marc Taro Holmes. Discovered he art directed video games. No wonder he can work that fast.
    Look forward to seeing more of your effort!

  7. Dale says:

    I, for one, am impressed! I’m looking forward to seeing the progression!

  8. There is always a beginning.
    Always.
    Begin.

  9. Looks great! Looking forward to seeing more! 🙂

  10. cubbyholes says:

    Just remember that art is about the getting there and discovering along the way. Fast has its place, but enjoy the getting there not just the arrival. 😁

Leave a Reply

