First Sheep…acrylic on canvas.

Baaaa....

Baaaa….

 

I’m selling this one in the art co-op.  It’s 18″ X 24″ and the first of, hopefully, many sheep.  The background, which is dark enough to confuse my camera, is deep purple.

Thank you everyone:  Cobs, Dale, Averyclaire, Karen, Donna and Cindy for your kind words and support, and to everyone who has “liked” my recent paintings.  I’m just taking a very small break from watercolor, but I’ll be back to it this fall at a week-long seminar with Lian Quan Zhen.  Very excited.

 

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Painting, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to First Sheep…acrylic on canvas.

  1. I would have bought this Patsye. It’s incredible and you should be rightly proud of it.

    We are our own worst critics when we make *something* whatever it may be, from a simple card to a painted masterpiece. We can all see where a fault was or is. But others looking at it can’t see any faults at all. I have never seen anything you’ve made which has a ‘fault’. Ever.

    I hope this darling little baby has gone to a great home where they will love her and care for her in the way she should be cared for.
    Sending oodles of love ~ Cobs. x
    (sorry for such a late comment on this … I’ve had dreadful problems with my internet and couldn’t post any comments anywhere, and sometimes had no internet at all for days on end. I’m now trying to catch up with everyone’s posts which I’ve missed. x

  2. Zoya says:

    She looks wonderful! Do you think it easier to paint with acrylics vs watercolour? Are the watercolour skills transferable to acrylics or are they complete different? My daughter convinced me to buy her some acrylic paints and I’m very tempted to try them out as well.

    • whimseytopia says:

      Hi! Thanks for the compliment and to answer your question…..acrylics are DEFINITELY easier than watercolor. You master watercolor and you’ll be more than ready to take on acrylics. I suggest a class (maybe a Craftsy class) for learning the tools … like thinners to extend drying time, and knives and brushes and stamps. There are endless ways to paint with acrylics, and the outcomes can be far superior to watercolor – especially when and if you get into collages. OK, perhaps not superior, but there’s way more options with acrylics than watercolors. Good luck. Patsye (p.s. People are more interested in buying acrylics on canvas than framed or nicely matted watercolors. Don’t know why.)

  3. eclecticnatureoflife says:

    Looks really good Patsey

  4. averyclaire says:

    This is an amazing painting. It’s so realistic. Love it. I imagine it was difficult to paint all that white fur!! Glad you have posted these last couple of photos. It’s nice to have you back again. I know it is difficult to be a blogger….but you are missed!

  5. Amanda says:

    Your work always brings joy.

  6. maureenc says:

    So glad to see you back blogging and painting! Look forward to seeing more of your sheep.

  7. Donna Teasley says:

    I love it!!

  8. Lois mentzer says:

    That looks great!!

  9. Dale says:

    I’m just so very glad to have you back!
    Love your sheep!

Leave a Reply

