Definitely Not a Weed

Click to Enlarge

Click to Enlarge

I have a pot of old herbs at the end of my driveway.  I don’t harvest them, or prune them, or feed them for that matter.  And I’ve been meaning to pull them out and start over since they’ve been coming and going for about three years.  Mostly a weed has taken over; at least I thought it was a weed until this morning it bloomed. And with the bloom came the most deliciously weird fragrance.  It was vaguely familiar, and well it should be. I drink it in my Earl Grey decaf tea every night before bed.  It’s bergamot.

It’s beautiful in the wild, and even prettier on my dining room table.  And the fragrance, not unlike the effect of lavender, is calming.

I’m going to set this plant free this fall or next spring to spread out in a new herb garden.  (If you click this photo three times slowly, it enlarges so much you can really see the detail in these flowers!)

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in A Day In My Life, Gardening, Phototopia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Definitely Not a Weed

  1. Hm.. something odd going on. I didn’t get the normal notification of this reply Patsye, hence the reason you haven’t received a reply.

    I’ve noticed that this can happen on some of my other ‘follows’ – so I’m going to do what I’ve done on other blogs. I’ll unfollow you, and then click to follow you again. Hopefully it will work and everything will be back to normal.

    You have a new blog? Oooo… I didn’t know about this. Did you blog about it on this blog? If so, I didn’t get that notification either.

  2. Hello Whimsey
    I haven’t seen you in a while and thought I’d pop along and say a cheery HELLO over the garden wall, and ask how you are.

    The weather here has taken a downward turn today and I’m sat here positively shivering. Time to get some warmer clothes out of hiding I think.

    Hope you are well and that everything in your corner of the world is fine and groovy.
    Sending love ~ Cobs. x

    • Hello again Whimsey … just popped by again to say hello, and hope to see you again soon in Blogland, because I miss your gentleness and humour, as well as your wonderful talent.
      Hope everything in your world is moving along smoothly, and that you’re in fine health.
      Sending love from my corner to yours. ~ Cobs.x

    • whimseytopia says:

      Good Morning. I snorkeled your site for 15 minutes at least trying to find a “contact me” or “email me” or even “comment” button, and could not. Is it MY computer, or what am I doing wrong? I am fine. I got a message from you awhile ago and did the same thing with trying to contact you to no avail. Hopefully you’ve made your comment on my post with the capacity to notify you with my comment. So convoluted….

      Anyhow, I have a new site and I’ve been working on that. Plus home renovations (new screened-in porch completed yesterday) and tons of stuff. Write to me by clicking that little British girl and give me your email so we can chat and I can catch you up. Hope all is well with you. Your cards are AMAZING, as usual. You are an incredibly talented lady!

  3. maureenc says:

    If that is a weed, I would be happy to have a POT of it in my garden. Notice I stressed “pot”, because in this part of the world uncontained plants tend to go(slightly) FERAL.

    • whimseytopia says:

      I’m hoping this one will go wild. I have a very large area for an herb garden. I’d someday like to make oils and soaps, etc. …just add this to my ever-growing list.

  4. averyclaire says:

    Beautiful. It looks to me like the native genus of bergamot with that lovely lilac color. Lucky you to have such wonderful “weeds.” 🤗

    • whimseytopia says:

      Hi. After I cut these flowers I found a white tag buried below the soil indicating that I purchased this at one time here in NC. Probably Walmart, or Lowes. What I like most is the pungent fragrance that a day later is still strong in my house.

Leave a Reply

