Two Easy Pieces: Copper Art Jewelry

 

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

Putting a square on a square is one of the basics in making art jewelry.  And while it would sound incredibly simple, it’s not as easy as you think. There are logistics involved, and I have found that making a template out of paper is the first thing you must do.  From there I make a mock piece, finding out before it’s too late where to add the rivets and tuck the ends of wire.  I’ll make numerous configurations with charms, textures, colors, and metals before I actually make a pendant.

I had the good fortune the other day to find a box of at least fifty gold-plated and sterling silver flat charms in my stash of cross-stitching stuff.  Back in the 80’s, cross stitch patterns often came with these little add-on’s to bring more dimension to the stitching.  Apparently I had more charms than projects, so now I can add these to my jewelry.

Click to enlarge

SOLD!

Getting the right bail or jump ring, and the right chain is important to the outcome, and recycled chains from old jewelry will be my major source.

The piece to the right has a brass background. I found the brass at a junk shop for $1.  It was the solid brass kickplate of an exterior door, which was a find because now most, if not all kick plates, are brass plated.  At 14 guage, it’s difficult to work with, but it makes a strong and weighty foundation for any design once you figure out how to punch holes through it.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Assemblage Art, Jewelry, OMG!, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Two Easy Pieces: Copper Art Jewelry

  1. I would definitely go for the tortoise as well. These are beautiful Patsye! 🙂

  2. Wow! Impressed big time here. I like both pieces, but I think if I were to choose my most favourite, I think I’d go for the tortoise.

    Well done Patsye. GREAT makes! ~ Cobs. x

  3. These are beautiful peices. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

