First Sale! …sort of.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

The first time I bought some copper I met one of the owners who seemed moderately interested in what I was using it for.  Or maybe I simply started a conversation, which I frequently do just to make for a more pleasant day.  So today, when I revisited his shop to replenish my copper stash, I brought some of my finished pieces with me.

I was very surprised by his response.  He thought his wife would go crazy over this type of jewelry and offered to barter copper for jewelry.  I gave him his choice of what I’d brought along and he chose one of my earlier pieces (like two weeks earlier) to swap.  I came home with enough copper to last me through the winter.  I was thrilled, and I think he was pretty happy too.

It’s been awhile since I sold a piece of art.  While most people like watercolors, few are interested in buying them, even when they’re framed.  My painting classes generate some interest, but not enough to keep me motivated.  Today was significant because this was the first person, besides Beth, to see my metalwork close up.

Tonight I decided to do something different.  I’ve completed about 20 pieces from copper and felt the need to start chipping away at my massive collection of reclaimed jewelry pieces, stones, beads, bones, antlers, and the like.  This is my first try:  wood, stone, bone and copper.  That’s a hand-carved bone turtle I found in the bead shop in Asheville.  The rod is just copper wire I pounded until it became rock hard.  This piece looks great over a black sweater.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Jewelry, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to First Sale! …sort of.

  1. Tracy says:

    Hi Patsye, thanks for visiting my blog and following. Nice to meet a fellow artisan. It does feel good to know someone likes our creations.

  2. Katharine says:

    Congratulations, Patsye! Well done!

  3. Ohhh many CONGRATULATIONS Patsye, on your first sale (exchange). I’m not surprised, because the things you’ve made have all got that wonderful tactile thing about them which makes you want to touch them. Once touched, I should imagine that the love affair begins and the toucher just HAS to buy, because they have no option. It would be too cruel to their heart to walk out without buying.

    I adore this new piece which you’ve made. It has a suggestion of one of the Indiana Jones’ beautiful women who appear in his films. Almost tribal – but not quite. Romantic, in an incredible, spellbinding way. The symbolism of the turtle and it’s meanings makes a fascinating read. This page: http://www.spiritanimal.info/turtle-spirit-animal/ … tells it better than I ever could.

    GREAT make Patsye!

    • Patsye says:

      Thank you Cobs. You always have something nice, and interesting, to say. I really appreciate your kindness and encouragement. And I went to that spirit animal site. I’ve bookmarked it and will return this evening to find out if I have a spirit animal. I’m thinking it will be a squirrel. Have a great day. Patsye

Leave a Reply

