Owl Eye Jewelry

Click to Enlarge

Click to Enlarge

Try saying that five times real fast.  Anyhow….

I wanted to try something different.  Mary wore a stunning piece to class one day that mesmerized me.  I’m sure it’s in one of her books.  She used a disc cutter to fashion the perfect place for an eye, and while I’m not sure whose eye it was, it was hard to look away.  I had a great photo of an owl and one of his eyes was much more open than the other and looked like the perfect fit for this piece.  It’s covered in mica, a mineral that comes in sheets and can be left alone or split for either a clear or darkened view. I hope I made this light enough because this owl eye is filled with owl attitude.

I also tried to change things up with a bit more bling and detail on the connections.  The back piece is embossed aluminum and the eye is glued to copper with the mica being held in place with eyelets.  The bar on top is wired with copper seed beads.  Those rod-looking connections are actually elongated handmade brass wire hoops.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Jewelry, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Owl Eye Jewelry

  1. Anonymous says:

    Here’s looking at you kid! Love, love, love the owl eye!

  2. Stunningly beautiful, Patsye.
    GREAT make.
    Christmas Wishes, from me to you. ~ Cobs.

  3. averyclaire says:

    Hi Patsye…your adventure into jewelry is delightful and very creative. Love all the things you have made! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

  4. Tracy says:

    Very creative. I have aluminum but haven’t made anything from it yet. A background is a good idea.

Leave a Reply

