Why Copper Jewelry?

A box that actually opens. Click to Enlarge

A box that actually opens. Click to Enlarge

I’ve gotten a few emails from old friends who are interested in my jewelry journey so I thought I would answer some of their questions in my posts.  What got me started making jewelry?  The short answer is:  I don’t know.  But I think it’s because I live in an artsy area of the country and I see more handmade jewelry that anything that might come from “where the kiss begins at Kay.” Also, I took Mary Hettmansperger’s class almost as a lark and a good reason to get out of town for a week.  This class alone had a profound effect on my interest in this art form.

Click to Enlarge

Click to Enlarge

Next:  It’s not THAT expensive to start, and I recommend just getting a basic jewelry tool kit, a butane torch, and some copper and brass, both 24 gauge.  You don’t need a disc cutter right away; you can cut a circle with some good lightweight snips.

A small vice is welcome but not necessary.  A texture hammer is a plus but a ball-peen hammer is a must.

Craftsy has classes, and there are books everywhere.  Just dive in.  It’s pretty clear from my posts that each piece gets better and easier to make.  My best advice:  just do it!

Good Stuff!

Good Stuff!

Almost every day I learn something new. Yesterday was about a product that will protect my wire by coating my tools.  I set aside a few tools specifically for wiring and coated them with guarded expectations.  But I am happy to report that this product works and works well. No more scratched wire!!!  I’ll try to share these revelations as I encounter them.

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Jewelry, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why Copper Jewelry?

  1. GREAT post Patsye. Full of interest from start to finish, and so helpful, as I’d been wondering how you came to be doing this, and also how difficult it would be to do.

    It looks like you’d need a fair amount of strength to do the cutting and shaping of the metal. Do you?
    Sending Christmas wishes to your corner from mine. ~ Cobs.

    • Patsye says:

      Good Morning Cobs. Love that I can count on you to comment. Lets me know at least someone is actually reading my posts. I’ve generated some interest from old and new friends about this art form, so I am going to answer their questions as I progress.

      Cobs, you do not need a lot of strength. Remember my age? I’m hardly what anyone would call either weak or strong. Just need good snips. If you go on Rio Grande tools online you’ll find German black handle jewelry snips that work great. I don’t have those yet, but I have the knockoffs from Home Depot that work pretty well. 24 gauge is pretty easy to cut. 26 gauge is even easier. 28 gauge is a breeze. And so on. The higher the gauge, the thinner the metal. You can find metal in small sheets at Hobby Lobby in the model making section for boys. Or the miniature train section. Somewhere they have this metal and I get small rods and pieces of thin brass through them.

      Be careful if you try this. It is very addictive, but you get a lot of bang for your buck. These pieces will last forever. I hope you give this some thought. With your creativity and talents, you’d be very good at this. Merry Everything! Patsye

      • Aw thank you Patsye. Bless you for giving me so much information. It’s very much appreciated.

        I really would like to have a go at this type of craft. You’ve really inspired me and each time I see a new piece that you’ve made, it urges me to get on and have a try. So some time in the New Year, when things get back to normal (and my health picks up a little), I think I will have my first tentative steps into your land of magic!

        Patsye … have you thought of perhaps approaching a museum, a good craft emporium, or maybe some sort of posher clothing shop which sells and stocks jewellery and who might very well be interested in your one off pieces of artisan made jewellery? I’m certain that your pieces would sell.
        Wishing you a peace filled, joyful Christmas, and a contented New Year.
        ~ Cobs. x

Leave a Reply

