First Snow of the Season

View from my downstairs door.

View from my downstairs door.

This is the most snow accumulation I’ve seen in the four years I’ve lived here.   And it continues to snow off and on and will do so through the day.  They’re expecting another three inches which will cap us at a foot!

And three more inches are expected today.

And three more inches are expected today.

I was prepared except for one major thing.  The battery on my Bose speaker attached to my computer (and Spotify) is kaput, and I do not have music.  Why anyone constructs an electronic devise that doesn’t have an on-off switch IN ADDITION TO THE REMOTE is beyond me.   Why I bought such a product is simple:  I didn’t know….until now…and I’m not happy.

But the snow is entertainment in and of itself.  Also Lucy and The Pumpkin are both mesmerized by the wall of white at the back door.  So I’ll queue up some movies and make some jewelry, drink hot cocoa and nap a lot.  Not a bad gig.

And oh yeah.  There’s FOOTBALL!!!!!

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in OMG!, Uncategorized, Whimseytopia and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to First Snow of the Season

  1. Terry Best says:

    Hi, I love your work. Do you sell any of your patterns? Terry

  2. That is an amazing view, love love love your pictures! How is it looking now, in March? Have you made any more pretty jewelry? 🙂

  3. (playing catch up after being poorly) …. No snow in my part of the UK – but snow in others, so we’re very lucky. But the weather is freeeeezing cold. We’ve had rain (by the bucket load) and hail, which we thought was snow at first but no. And night times covers us in a thick blanket of frost and a mist hangs in the air, which makes it look like someone has frozen the island. Pretty but kind of freaky.

    I came to ‘like’ your post about Facebook … in which you say: ” I wouldn’t bet my life that Facebook is not a part of something nefarious bent on compiling dossiers of all its members.” … which, being brutally honest here, I’ve suspected for some years, and my family have guffawed at me about. But the post won’t show up when I click the link from the notification of your post which was sent to my email. Is the post still there, or did you remove it?

    Sending squidges and warm (virtual) hugs ~ Cobs. x

  4. Patsye says:

    But then the snow melted and now I’m back to work on my kitchen. I’m nearly finished, and will post pictures of the renovation hopefully by the end of the month.

  5. Timelesslady says:

    Six to seven inches here in Southern New Jersey. I had read a forecast in the Autumn that said we were going to have a snowy winter…I wonder if the rest of the winter months will prove this true also.

  6. averyclaire says:

    So many places that don’t usually get snow…are being bombarded…and we here in Chicago who are used to it…have none!

  7. Tracy says:

    Nice pictures. It’s cold and rainy where I am. I think winter is where we ponder all the things we’re going to do when spring and summer come. 🙂

  8. Katzcradul says:

    Snow on the ground in the Kansas City area as well. A high today of 25 degrees expected. Plans are to make some mulled apricot cider in the crock pot, do a little work on my current punch needle embroidery project and perhaps continue with my reading of A House Divided (Pearl S. Buck).

    • Patsye says:

      Oooooo! Please post pictures of your punch needle. I have both a big rug and a small project on frames right now. Do you design or buy kits?

      • Katzcradul says:

        I have only purchased one kit, I’ve designed the rest. I’d be thrilled to show you what I’m working on, but I don’t think I know how to post a picture here. Please advise.

        • Patsye says:

          Hum. Didn’t consider that these little “reply” boxes don’t have that option. BUT you can send pictures to my email. Patsye@mail.com. Or just click on the little girl putting a letter in the British Mail Collector on the right column of this blog. When I first started miniature punch needle I was making patches for bags and purses. You can search my site by putting in the words “punch needle” into the “Looking For Something” box above the mailbox. You’ll find rugs and miniatures and a fraction of what I’ve accomplished. I really like punch needle because it’s so fast. I did a hall rug in about a month. I could never have accomplished that with rug hooking, and the results are exactly the same.

          So yes. Send pictures. Let me know where you are and if you’re in an area where punch needle is common. It is not here. I have a hard time spreading the word as well. Everyone here knits.

          Good to hear from you. Patsye

          • Sue Autry says:

            I’ll take some pics and send to your email. I’m in Missouri, just an hour east of Kansas City. I wouldn’t say punch needle is popular here. I don’t think it’s particularly popular anywhere, but I think it’s time will come. With that said, I have some excellent resources locally since rug hooking is popular in this area and as you well know, the patterns are pretty much interchangeable. In my opinion, the best designer of punch needle patterns, Shawn Williams, is about an hour and half drive from me. I think Threads That Bind, her store and brand are exceptional. I’ve been there and met. She was open and helpful, giving me tips on designing my own work. I found her refreshing. I’m having a very difficult time imagining a rug made by punch needle! I’ll search your site for pictures. Good to make contact with a fellow punch needler.

            • Patsye says:

              Looking forward the pics of your creations. Ah….the punch needles for rugs are huge, not the tiny ones we use for miniature punch needle. AmyOxford.com. That’s the place you need to go. She invented an ergonomic needle in a series of sizes that will have you punching out a rug in no time. These needles can use both yarn or strips of fabric.

              Funny story: I have two cats, Lucy and The Pumpkin, who love playing with the hanging threads of my rugs while I’m punching. I’ll be punching from the the backside and they’ll be underneath my frame pulling my work out as I go. I have to cut my dangling threads often or they will undo all my work in no time. I took an old table and removed the top. I put rug tacking strips around the frame and it’s a perfect large frame for rug punching.

              Visit AmyOxford.com. You’ll be glad you did.

  9. breebree1 says:

    Sounds like a good day! Have fun.

Leave a Reply

