Happy Endings

On the heels of two very bad days of broken phones, lost credit cards, and a litany of other mishaps that I will spare you the details, life handed me a little miracle.

When I opened my back door this morning a cute but clearly exhausted dog was sitting on the step, looking like that RCA dog, only peering into my kitchen instead of a Victrola.  He wasn’t bouncing around, but rather waiting, like waiting for me to do something about his predicament.  Clearly he was lost and tired of trying to make his way back home.

This was not my first animal encounter in my little town, and frankly there could have been many more because I see a lot of loose dogs around here.  Being a city girl, free-range dogs are an unusual sight.  Here, well let’s just say that things are a big more laid back.

So I called animal control and here’s where the miracle happens.  Someone had JUST called about their missing dog; a dog who, last night, extricated himself from his collar and zapper and was off for his Jack London adventure.  But after a night on the town, he spent the last few hours in my screened porch reevaluating his decision and waiting for his family to arrive.

Reunions of lost dogs and their owners are definitely Hallmark moments.  Getting my phone service fixed would be another one.

ANOTHER LOST DOG STORY

NOT-QUITE-DEAD-YET CAT STORY

About Patsye

I am an older woman and artist. I love to craft. I love to sew and knit and crochet and needlepoint. I love to paint and draw and make art with my hands. Being creative is what gets me up in the morning. Art is my tea, my fresh air, my good book, and my cats all rolled into one. I have much to share and hope you'll visit often.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy Endings

  1. Patsye, I am so happy this little wanderer found you, your compassion, and his owners! That really must have been a beautiful Hallmark moment when they were reunited!! Bless you. 🙂

  2. Dale says:

    Now this is definitely a feel-good story! Just what I needed to not focus on my woes!

  3. I am SOO glad that his owners were found and reunited.
    Bless you for caring for him while you and he waited for them to arrive. I bet they were so happy to see him.
    Bless your heart. ~ Cobs. x

  4. Patsye says:

    Hi Beth: So sorry you’re not well. Did you get that flu shot???? But I’m still here, making jewelry and enjoying this weather. Will be taking a small class in West Jefferson on metal clay this August.

    Hope you get better soon. Pull out your paints and see what happens. You may surprise yourself.

  5. Beth & Rick Davis says:

    Hey Paysye!! So good to hear you’re still in the rescue business. I’ve missed you! Thought maybe you had pulled up stakes and moved back to DC to be with your Sweetie full-time 🙂 !! Haven’t painted anything since our last class. Guess I need a big dose of encouragement or a swift kick in the behind…maybe BOTH, which I’m confident you can handle nicely, my friend. I’ve been under the weather, and the covers. for the past week or so with flu or “whatever”, but seem to be emerging back into the land of the living a bit today. Maybe we can have lunch one day before Christmas 🙂 Chat we you soon, I hope…Beth

Leave a Reply

